Introduction

 

The Phuien language is spoken by approximately 14,000 people, most of whom live in the southwest of Burkina Faso in the Tuy, Ioba, and Bougouriba provinces. There are also a fair number of speakers of the language living in Bobo-Dioulasso, the second-largest city in Burkina, and in Côte d'Ivoire, where some have gone in search of employment.

The language and the people group are also known by other names, including Buguli, Buguri, Pougouli, Puguli, Pwa, Pwe, Pwie, Pwien, and Pwo. However, those who speak this language call it “Phuien” and call themselves the “Phuó,” or “Phuú” in reference to a single individual.

The Phuó are very proud of their language; they use it at home and at work, resisting pressure to abandon it in favor of any of the more widely used neighboring languages. The Phuien culture is rich in stories and music, and the Phuó use their mother tongue not only in their traditional customs, but also in the local churches, composing Christian songs using indigenous melodies and rhythms.

This document has been designed for use by teachers, literacy workers, and all who wish to read or write in Phuien.

Users of this dictionary are encouraged to contribute to its improvement by submitting their comments, questions and corrections on the Contact Us page.

Introduction

 

Les locuteurs du phuien comptent d'environ 14.000 individus qui habitent, pour la plupart, au sud-ouest du Burkina Faso, dans les provinces du Tuy, du Ioba, et de la Bougouriba. Il y a aussi un bon nombre de locuteurs de la langue dans le diaspora, surtout a Bobo-Dioulasso, la deuxième ville du Burkina, et en Côte d'Ivoire, où certains sont partis chercher du travail.

La langue phuien est connue sous d'autres appellations aussi : buguli, buguri, pougouli, puguli, pwa, pwe, pwie, pwien, pwo. Pourtant, les locuteurs de cette langue l'appellent « phuien » et s'appellent eux-mêmes des « Phuó » dont le singulier est « Phuú ».

Les Phuó sont très fiers de leur langue ; ils l'utilisent dans le foyer et au travail, résistant toute pression de l'abandonner en faveur d'une autre langue avoisinante. La culture phuien est riche en contes et musique, et les Phuó emploient leur langue maternelle non seulement dans les coutumes traditionelles, mais aussi dans les églises locales, composant des chants chrétiens à la base de mélodies et rythmes indigènes.

Ce document a été conçu à l'usage des enseignants, des alphabétiseurs, et de tous ceux qui désirent lire ou s'exprimer par écrit en phuien.

Les utilisateurs du dictionnaire sont vivement encouragés à contribuer à l’amélioration du dictionnaire en envoyant leurs commentaires, questions et corrections à travers la page Nous contacter.